Articles, Blog

Michael Frolik draws a penalty shot and then scores on the penalty shot.

August 23, 2019


MOVES AS IT COMES BACK TO EAVES AND THEN TO COLAIACOVO AND HIS SHOT IS BLOCKED AND HERE IS FROLIK MOVING IN ON THE BREAKAWAY, AND HE LOST IT, AND WHAT DO WE HAVE COMING UP HERE? A PENALTY SHOT!>>Eddie: WHAT A SHOT BLOCK BY MICHAEL FROLIK. HE WANTED COLAIACOVO TO SHOOT EARLIER, AND HE DID NOT, AND HERE TO TRY TO SHOOT IT IS FROLIK, AND IN ALONE A QUICK STICK ACROSS THE HANDS AND THE REFEREE DECIDES TO CALL A PENALTY SHOT. NOT SURE IF I AGREE WITH THE CALL, BUT IT DOES NOT MATTER, BECAUSE IT IS A HUGE OPPORTUNITY HERE FOR FROLIK.>>Mike: FROLIK VERSUS HOWARD, AND SCORE! MICHAEL FROLIK HAS MADE IT 4-2, CHICAGO. JIMMY HOWARD ALL OVER THE REFEREE. AND THE DEFICIT NOW FOR DETROIT IS TWO.>>Eddie: WATCH THIS BACKHAND BY MICHAEL FROLIK. HOWARD’S GLOVE GOES DOWN AND A LOT OF ROOM ON THE GLOVEHAND SIDE AND JIMMY HOWARD GOING RIGHT AFTER THE REFEREE CHRIS ROONEY. ONE LITTLE MOVE, AND THEN ALL IN ONE MOTION, THE BACKHAND AND THE REACTION BY

16 Comments

  • Reply Anon May 28, 2013 at 3:24 am

    He slashed him in the hands hard enough to make him lose the puck.

  • Reply Jeff B. May 28, 2013 at 3:48 am

    "He slashed him in the hands hard enough to make him lose the puck." ARE YOU KIDDING?!? Hard enough? Barely tapped him.

  • Reply BillS May 28, 2013 at 5:02 am

    That wasnt even a penalty let alone a penalty shot

  • Reply Fightorflight31 May 28, 2013 at 6:09 am

    For a penalty shot to be awarded, (i)the foul must take place in the attacking zone. The infraction must have come from behind. (ii)The player with possession must have been denied a reasonable chance to score. (iii) If the foul was from behind and he was denied a more reasonable shot due to this infraction, a penalty shot should be awarded. NHL Rule 57.3

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 28, 2013 at 7:08 am

    Ok?? Don't quote the rules and try to defend this call. 99/100 times in the NHL this doesn't get called. I've seen 10x worse not called. He barely slashed him at exactly the right moment as he was switching from forehand to backhand to make him lose the puck. I bet if he didn't lose the puck and just shot and missed it wouldn't have been called and penalty at all. I would of called it 2 mins for slashing JUST because he lost the puck as a result.. but a PS in game 6 in the playoffs? Get real..

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 28, 2013 at 7:09 am

    those type of slashes happen constantly in the game.. uncalled

  • Reply Puklej chleba May 28, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Pěkně ho uklidil!

  • Reply senax77 May 28, 2013 at 9:13 am

    ze zadu to vypadalo, jako by mel piratsky dres 😉 sem rad, ze sme tuhle sezonu mohli videt tak sikovneho hrace u nas a ted i v NHL …Miso at se ti dari dal 😉

  • Reply Fightorflight31 May 28, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Yeah it's at the refs discretion, but it is what it is.

  • Reply recklss May 28, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    the fix is in…so very obvious …and shameful

  • Reply -- May 28, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    24.1 Penalty Shot – A penalty shot is designed to restore a scoring opportunity which was lost as a result of a foul being committed by the offending team, based on the parameters set out in these rules…It doesn't matter how hard you slash him…He slashed him when he was making a deke to score on a breakaway which is justified by this rule..if you have a problem with the call…Have a problem with the rule! Goddamn CRYBABY WING FANS! Nothing better to do than whine like a bunch of bitches!

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 29, 2013 at 4:47 am

    What I have a problem with is the fact this NEVER gets called. Like I said before, 99/100 times this doesn't get called, in any game, by any ref. If this is how the NHL wants it to be called then their should be a helluva lot more penalty shots called. For them to go out and call this in game 6 of the Stanely Cup playoffs and have it end up being the goal that decided the game is disappointing. It was by far the weakest PS call I have ever seen in my life, in any level of hockey.

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 29, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    I don't really see it as justified and I don't know how anyone could.. Considering the final score was 3-4 and that penalty shot was the game winning goal, I would say it was pretty game deciding.

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 29, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Oh and by the way if you want to quote the rule book lets look at the rule of slashing.. "Any FORCEFUL or POWERFUL chop with the stick on an opponent’s body, the opponent’s stick, or on or near the opponent’s hands" Please don't tell me you consider that forceful or powerful.. if you do, you're softer than a cotton ball.

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 30, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    idk if you saw my other post but this is for all the people quoting the rule book. Slashing is "Any FORCEFUL or POWERFUL chop with the stick on an opponent’s body, the opponent’s stick, or on or near the opponent’s hands" That was not forceful or powerful by any means. He tapped his stick knocked the puck away. That in all reality was a good lucky defensive play. Calling it a penalty shot ehh whatever, but I don't think it was a slash.. No slash = no penalty shot

  • Reply TheFUPApolice May 30, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    Im just doing what Hawks fans have been doing about the call "quoting" the rule book, trying to justify the garbage call. So I am quoting the rule book. It's not a losing argument it was a weak call period and anyone who knows hockey, has played hockey, at any highly competitive level, knows this..

  • Leave a Reply